Grapenut “Meat” Loaf

Growing up, my diet was very strict and completely vegetarian.  While some may turn their noses up at such a lifestyle, many more are now adopting a plant-based diet as they attempt to be the healthiest that they can be.  More people realize that a diet rich in plant-based foods with less emphasis on meats is actually better for you.

This recipe is about 35+ years old, so there can be a lot of tweaking to bring it up to date.  Further, I personally know that earlier vegetarian recipes were often loaded with ingredients that a strict vegan would not consume and sometimes are not the healthiest of options either.

However, the flavors in this loaf are so full, that it makes a wonderful addition to any meal!Try this entrée on your next Meat-Free Monday!  You may find a new dish that your family will enjoy!

Fall 2013 130

Grapenut Loaf

1-1/4 c grapenuts cereal

1 c chopped nuts (I prefer raw pecans)

1 c chopped celery

1 large onion, diced

1 cup mushroom soup

1/2 tsp salt (may omit)

2 beaten eggs

2 tbsp melted butter

1 tsp Savarex (I find Bragg’s Liquid Aminos works well)

Combine all together in a large mixing bowl until well mixed.  Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 375F for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Serves 6.

001

What I like most about the flavor is the crunchiness of the little celery bits and the full bodied nuttiness that the pecans provide.  Serve it like you would regular meatloaf and it’s also very good with a light brown sauce/gravy!  It’s also good by itself!

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Grapenut “Meat” Loaf

  1. Looks delicious and healthy!
    Would love to try it, could you tell me some substitute for the grapenuts cereal, as I can not find it in local shops.
    Thanks 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting! The Post Grape Nuts cereal is what gives it its unique flavor, so I think that if you can find a nugget grains type of cereal, that should work. Something I haven’t tried this recipe with would be Quinoa. I’ve heard it would work really well, too. Good luck with it! I’m sure it will be delicious!

  2. I had grapenut meatballs several years ago and I really loved them. I lost the recipe and have not been able to find it so I am going to try this recipe. I am excited to try it.

Leave a Reply

