Cottage Cheese Pecan “Meat” Balls

My parents didn’t start out as vegetarians, but by the time my brother and I were toddlers, they had switched to a very strict, healthy diet of plant-based foods.  Truth be told, Mom said I never would eat any meat products, even as a baby.  Anytime she would try to feed me beef, chicken, hot dogs…whatever….I would spit them out.  So I guess I was “born” a vegetarian!

This dish is good several different ways when you’re looking to add a protein to your Meat-Free Monday meals.  If you are vegan, you can try substituting the cheese for tofu.  I personally have not tried to “vegan-ise” this recipe, so it would definitely be an experiment!  These meatballs are great in spaghetti sauce, bake them in a marinara or cream of mushroom soup sauce and serve as a side dish.  Or you can make “meatball” subs with them!

Here’s what you’re going to need:

Large mixing bowl, large wooden spoon, raw wheat germ, 16 oz. container of fat-free cottage cheese, pecan meal, onion, eggs, seasoned bread crumbs and a square baking dish with a lid.

Cottage Cheese Pecan Meatballs

1 cup fat-free cottage cheese (8 oz.)

1/2 cup raw wheat germ

1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs (Panko is great too)

1 cup pecan meal

3 eggs (I use 2-farm fresh eggs)

1 large onion, minced

 

Ice & Snow Storm 2013 013

Combine all ingredients well and using a cereal tablespoon, scoop out into your hands and roll into balls.  The mixture will be thick, but very moist.

Preheat your oven to 350*F.  Spray your baking dish with non-stick spray.

Ice & Snow Storm 2013 015

I actually doubled this batch and made bigger “meat”balls even though they’re not exactly the same size! And because onions and my hubby are not friends, I substituted 1 tsp onion powder for the chopped onions to keep the flavor.

Cover and bake for an hour or until golden brown.

Ice & Snow Storm 2013 016

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

