Birthday Cake For The Birthday Boy!

In celebration of my husband’s birthday, I decided to bake a German Chocolate cake this morning.  I’ve been wanting to try a homemade frosting for it and have searched high and low for the right recipe.  Finally finding one, I became quite the “busy bee” this morning!

016

The cake is the tried and true Hershey’s chocolate cake recipe and I’ve played around with it a tiny bit. Here’s the recipe (My changes are in parenthesis):

Thanks to Hershey’s for the simply awesome recipe that has been one of my favorites.

HERSHEY’S Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake

2 c. sugar  (1-1/2 cups sugar)

1-3/4 c. all purpose-flour (1-1/2 cup unbleached AP flour + 1/4 c. ww pastry flour)

3/4 c. Hershey’s cocoa

1-1/2 tsp baking powder (1-1/2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder)

1-1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 eggs

1 c. milk (I will sometimes use Unsweetened nut milks)

1/2 c. oil

2 tsp. pure vanilla

1 c. boiling water

(1 tsp. coffee)

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla.  Beat for 2 minutes on medium speed.  Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin).  Pour into pans.  Bake 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees.  Cool 10 minutes then cool completely out of the pans.  Ice when completely cool.

This is the icing recipe for a 2-layer cake. Since I’ve never made it before, I will follow it exactly before I start playing with it! Ok, so I lied. I did play around with it, but only a little bit!

009

German Chocolate Cake Frosting

1 c. evaporated milk

1 c. sugar

3 egg yolks beat with 1 tsp. water

1/2 c. butter

1 c. chopped pecans

1 c. flake coconut

1 tbsp. corn starch (optional)

Cook over medium heat until thick.  Then stir in nuts and coconut. Spread on cooled cake while still warm. Let set for about 1/2 an hour, then serve it up as big, thick slices!

017

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Jeff! I love you more than you’ll ever know!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Cake For The Birthday Boy!

Leave a Reply

