April Showers Bring May Flowers?

Not this year! May flowers are in full bloom in April! What in the world will May bring? Since Spring started in January this year, our gardening timeline is all confused! However, it allows me more chances for beautiful photos. Especially since the rainy days have gone away and it’s nearly 70-degrees today! The fir tree has become a loft for the choral group that’s been singing away since before dawn and lots of little visitors have stopped by for a snack or a little dip.

This week the peonies bloomed and are going to become a bouquet with some of the lilacs! So a few minutes ago I grabbed the camera and went outside to catch a few shots. I hope you enjoy these!

003

My “Baby Girl” Kacey loves to soak up the sun and watch the birds that we encourage to visit us. She is such a thoughtful soul. Sometimes while watching her, it just makes me wonder what goes through her little mind. It’s almost like she’s in deep thought. She gives me some beautiful poses without ever trying. But they are difficult to catch because once she hears the snap and click of the camera, the moment is lost. I was quite lucky with this one….

010

One of our little friends who likes to stop by and take a snack with us! He’s such a singer, too. He even brought his lady friend one time and they both took a few moments on our deck. It was so fun to watch them and try to catch as many shots as I could!

037

These two little lovebirds were fun to watch while they picked through the seeds, scarfing down a tasty meal while I tried to stay as still as possible to capture this beautiful scene!

008

A wonderful bud beginning to open is just as beautiful as the full bloom! These are so fragrant and fill the air with their scent! And there are many buds! The reds are now coming in and will probably bloom in the next day or so. For now, it’s just the light pinks/white ones. I enjoy making bouquets to bring inside the house every year!

006

I just love peonies, don’t you? They are such beautiful flowers!

012

I love lilacs, don’t you? We have a large bush in the front and an even larger one in the back. Between the two, the competing scent of lilacs permeates the air and I cannot decide which scent I love most…peonies or lilacs!

004

005

035

066

Standing in the middle of the lilacs, bees were buzzing around me and then, this little surprise stopped by…

074

Little pockets of color are peeking through all over the place!

057

This must be the week for the pinks and purples!

059

I am a big fan of Georgia O’Keefe. Can you tell?

061

These little beauties are a groundcover that I just love.

094

Last season our rosebushes developed the black mold disease and I had to cut every one of them down to the ground. Thinking I had lost all 17, it was a pleasant surprise to see young sprouts peeking through the ground and this is what we have:

098

096

Last, but not least…my favorite aviary couple, Mama & Papa Cardinal!

019

020

Stayed tuned!

4 thoughts on “April Showers Bring May Flowers?

    • Thank you, Tom! Wish you could smell it. The lilacs fill the air. It’s such a mood lifter every time you step outside. Thanks for stopping by again. Always love it when you enjoy my posts. Xoxoxoxxo

Leave a Reply

