Tiptoe Through the Tulips

Smile! You’re on Jeffery Camera, it’s March 20, 2012!

We were married in April 2009 and for our honeymoon, we decided on a road trip that encompassed our nation’s Capital City, Washington, D.C., Richmond, Virginia, and Appomattox Court House. One of our first stops was in Charlottesville, Virginia. I’d always wanted to see Monticello, the home of our 3rd President, Thomas Jefferson. So, on the way to D.C., we stopped to see Mr. Jefferson’s home.

Our day was a rainy one. The fog sat heavily on the ground, hiding most of the views. Lucky for us, the rain let up for a while and we were able to walk the grounds of Monticello.  What a lovely place it is! I could almost imagine it all those years ago when Mr. Jefferson lived there!

Tulips are my favorite flower, which is why I chose a Spring wedding. I was able to carry them in my bouquet as well. Wouldn’t you know, walking around the grounds of Monticello I see beds and beds of beautiful flowers lining the walkways, including my wonderful tulips!

My super special new Hubby/ Hot Groom decided to take several photos of my favorite flower. As you will see, they turned out beautifully! We’ve begun framing our photography as art in our home. So, now we share them with you!

Enjoy while you tiptoe through the tulips…

Yellow Tulip 4-2009

Honeymoon Monticello 048

Honeymoon Monticello 069

Are these not just some of the most beautiful tulips ever? I’ve been to Europe and saw the beautiful tulips there, but I enjoyed these every bit as much, if not more! (Could it be that it was because I was on a vacation with the Love of my life?)

We didn’t mind the misty rain at all. As a matter of fact, I think it made our photos that much better!

There were some varieties of tulips that I’d never seen up close and in person. So this walk around the garden – where Thomas Jefferson once strolled – was particularly delightful for me!

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do. Every time I look at them my heart and soul is flooded with wonderful memories. And, I can almost smell them!

Honeymoon Monticello 070

Honeymoon Monticello 083

This is one of my favorite shots of Monticello. The mist hanging around it, just hugging it, while the tulips stand at attention drinking in every drop of the rain! Simply breathtaking!

Honeymoon Monticello 073

I don’t know about you, but I could just “tiptoe through the tulips” all day! So, let’s keep strolling, okay?

Honeymoon Monticello 055

Honeymoon Monticello 076

Honeymoon Monticello 079

Wishing you and yours a very Happy First Day of Spring! May your days be as beautiful our stroll!

“If I had a flower for every time I thought of you, I could walk in my garden forever.”

-Alfred Lord Tennyson

8 thoughts on “Tiptoe Through the Tulips

  1. Hey Baby…..My name ain’t “Tiny Tim” but I tip-toed thru the tulips and enjoyed the scenery
    bout as much as ya’ll —I reckon. Yar “old-man” did a pretty decent job on the pictures I’m
    tellin ya. Love you both.
    One of your greatest admirees…..JG

Leave a Reply

