Color My World Beautiful

Over seasons past, our little corner of the world has bloomed into something quite colorful each Spring and Summer. This year, things are a little off due to the super mild winter (can we say summer?) and lack of cold for the bulbs to rest for their normal time period. It is not yet officially Spring, but everything around us says it is! From my previous post, Spring Has Sprung Talbott Style, you saw a glimpse of those beautiful flowers that have already popped up!

Now, they are nearly gone, and there is not much left to share. One of the peach trees has some buds popping out and I’ve noticed that the lilacs have buds as well as many other plants. Just this week, I have repotted my aloe and planted some of my marigold seeds from last season in a pot on the deck. Dare I say it? My gardening season has begun!

003

You know the two little munchkins are excited when we can open the doors and windows again! The fresh spring air is filled with pear blossom scent (choke, sputter, achoo on my part!) and the songs of birds fill the air. This is the time of year I keep the camera close by to catch everything I can!

I moved their normal “chair” to another window, but as you can see, that doesn’t stop them from taking a look at the action outside!

These two run from window to window and door to door to drink it all in. I sometimes take them out to enjoy the sunshine on the deck with me. However, because we have a coyote and fox that hangs around they are indoor pets. I don’t want to hand those two over as a “scrumptious kitty” dinner on a platter! Kacey and Ivan are hilarious to watch sometimes and if you keep looking, you’ll see what they get to watch!

Know that I am bound and determined to catch the ever elusive creature whom I have named Papa Cardinal. I’ve tried and tried to get a good shot of him on more than one occasion. He stands there and sings his little heart out and eats from the plate, but when I reach for my camera, he darts away. With a stroke of luck this morning, I caught the little bugger and boy is he GORGEOUS! Must be that stroke of Irish luck that’s working for me today?

Have a little peak at my handsome friend, Papa Cardinal! Isn’t he just beautiful? He’s got his mouthful of seeds, too! That’s something I like to see!031

I just love the beautiful reds and black of the Cardinal. Once Mama Cardinal starts to come around, I hope to capture her beautiful self as well! And maybe, just maybe, I’ll be able to get the little ones this year, too! At this moment, Papa Cardinal is perched on top of my crepe myrtle and is singing his little heart out! What a lovely sight he is from here.

But not to be out done, the other bird friends have started hanging around too. Could it be that it’s because I remembered to fill up their plates yesterday? Ha! I did! And I cleaned out their water bowl, filling it with fresh water. But I think the rain storm last night filled it up to overflowing!

Shortly after Papa Cardinal went on his way, another one of his friends stopped by to sing a good morning song to me. I couldn’t believe my luck! So I grabbed the camera and just waited to catch a great pose. And you know what? I got it! See for yourself!

038

This one looks like a young Mockingbird. He still has some baby tufts but his song was beautiful! Unlike some of our other feathered friends, Mr. MB didn’t dance around. He preferred to stay front and center and perform for me. I had the best seat in the house!

He just sang and sang for a full 5 minutes before stuffing his mouth full of seed and flying off to join his friends in our fir tree.

Lucky for me, the cats were pre-occupied with some goings on at another window and didn’t scare him off!

This morning started off quite foggy, but the sun has peeked through and burned most of it off. I hope you enjoy some of the other friends who stopped by to sing for me!

 

A Black-Capped Chickadee also stopped by to have some breakfast. I haven’t seen one in such a long time!

022

And now for some color from the past! These are photos of our garden from Spring/Summer 2010 and 2011. I can’t wait for these to bloom again this year!

Azaela Spring 2011   Iris Spring 2011

Yellow Iris Spring 2011

Lilac Spring 2011Rose Spring 2011

Hydrangea Summer 2010

Yellow Lily Spring 2011

Peony Spring 2011

Needless to say, the flowers in my garden are absolutely beautiful and I cannot take credit for planting them, because they were here long before I was. I just try to feebly maintain them and hope they last for many years to come!

I am in the process of mapping out my vegetable garden for this season and look forward to charting its progress in the future!

Until next time….keep a song in your heart and take the time to stop and smell the flowers!

6 thoughts on “Color My World Beautiful

    • Thank you. That Papa Cardinal has been one elusive dude! I’ve been on him for almost 3 years! I think Spring has arrived much earlier everywhere! Althought I am sure you are happy not to be neck high in snow right now!

  1. Wow, Spring has definitely arrived at the Strang household. Beautiful photography. It was a pleasure to see your garden. Oh, how I wish I could grow hydrangea, but the Texas sun would burn it to a cinder. I guess I have to enjoy yours.’

    Great job on the post. I can almost smell the flowers.

    • Hey Tom! I’m glad you enjoyed the pics. Every year the lilacs just fill the air with their scent when they are in full bloom! It’s a wonderful time of year. Thank you for the encouragement! We have 6 hydrangea bushes! They are wonderful when they’re all in full bloom. Take a DEEEEEEEEP breath! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

